Choosing a Role for User Profiles | montessoricompass1

Choosing a Role for User Profiles

So, you are ready to get started creating your new Montessori Compass account. You go to <More/Users> to create profiles for all your valued staff members, and are faced with the question of what role each one will maintain in MC. Here is a summary of the various levels of capabilities and access granted to each role.

There is ONLY ONE Account Owner, who is the master of your Montessori Compass universe. This person is most often the Head of School, Director, or Principal.  The Account Owner has access to everything. This means he/she can do anything and see everything that goes on in MC except for Messages sent between other users.  This profile cannot be deleted, however, it can be updated with a new name, email address, and password.  The Account Owner profile was created automatically by the person who initiated the MC trial or subscription, so if this was a teacher you may want to consider changing this profile into the name of the Head of School and creating a new Teacher profile for the former Account Owner. CLICK HERE to learn more about how to do this.

A User with the role of Administrator can do everything the Account Owner can do, except create or edit other Administrator profiles.  He/she can

  • create and edit Student, Teacher, Parent, and Classroom Profiles

  • add/edit calendar events and school days

  • add/edit curriculum and category/material/lesson descriptions

  • plan/record lessons, observations, and parent communications for ALL CLASSROOMS

  • access the records, plans, and notes entered for ALL CLASSROOMS

  • upload and view all photos

  • adjust the settings and visibility for all communications done within MC school-wide

Teacher users have access only to information pertaining to the Classroom to which they are assigned and school-wide calendar events/school days.  This means that a Teacher CAN

  • record attendance*

  • plan and record lessons*

  • record observations, trackers, and parent communications*

  • create/edit Progress Reports*

  • create photo albums and upload photos*

  • view photos (that he/she has uploaded or that have been shared with him/her)

  • create/edit calendar events*

  • communicate through Messaging with other Users, including Parents**

*only for those students/parents assigned to his/her classroom

**An Administrator can disable Teacher to Parent communication via Messaging

A Teacher CANNOT

  • view activity recorded for students that are not assigned to his/her classroom

  • add/edit the School Profile, Classroom Profile, or communication settings

  • add/edit Student Profiles or other User profiles (other than his/her own profile)

  • add/edit Curriculum*

*An Administrator can, however, upgrade a Teacher’s profile to the status of Curriculum Editor, which gives the Teacher the ability to add/edit curriculum. Keep in mind that any changes made to the Curriculum will be applied school-wide, and are not class-specific.  

Parent Users can only view what you choose to share with them. And they will only be able to see information that pertains to their own child(ren). All information sharing and messaging abilities are controlled by an Administrator of your school’s MC account.

Related article: Creating and Managing Users.